City Council

Colleen Kenny Mayor First District Colleen Kenny
Eric Gustad Mayor Pro-Tem Seventh District Eric Gustad
Lynda Beaton Councilmember Second District Lynda Beaton
Chip Goodspeed Councilmember Fourth District Chip Goodspeed
James Smith Councilmember Fifth District James Smith
Mark Wittlieff Councilmember Sixth District Mark Wittlieff
Roger Zielinski Councilmember Third District Roger Zielinski

City Council Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are available the Friday before the scheduled meeting.
Most Recent Agenda | View All

Minutes are available following approval.
Most Recent Minutes | View All

Videos of City Council meetings can be found on the PEG Website.

The City Council is the governing body for the City of Manistee. The council consists of seven members who serve two-year terms. Members are nominated by district but elected at large by voters. Elections are nonpartisan. Terms are staggered with districts 1,3, 5 and 7 elected one year while districts 2, 4 and 6 are elected the next year.

Once seated after an election, council elects a mayor from among their members. The mayor is the city’s chief executive official and presides over meetings of the council.

City Council Guidelines Policy

The City Council is the legislative authority and governing body for the city. It is responsible for hiring and overseeing the city manager, setting policy and adopting ordinances and resolutions. One of the most important policies is budgetary which is carried out through reviewing and adopting the annual budget which funds the city’s operations, capital projects and council’s priorities fiscal year which begins every July.

Another important policy document is the strategic plan. This annually updated plan provides high level guidance for the day to day operations of the city and is a vital management tool.

Most Recent Strategic Plan | View All